• Sun. Aug 7th, 2022

AU law professor Cynthia Nance named to Arkansas PBS commission

Cynthia E. Nance of Fayetteville was appointed by Governor Hutchinson to the Arkansas PBS Commission.

Arkansas PBS, the only statewide public media network, offers daily, essential, local and award-winning productions and programs aimed at sharing Arkansas and the world with viewers through multiple digital platforms.

Of Arkansas’ eight PBS commissioners, one is required from each of the state’s four congressional districts, with one involved in Arkansas’ public school system and one from higher education. The role of a commissioner is that of a citizen representative responsible for oversight of the statewide public media network.

Nance is Dean Emeritus, Nathan G. Gordon Professor of Law, at the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville. Nance, who joined Arkansas Law School as an assistant professor in 1994, teaches Lawyers as Leaders, Labor and Employment Law, Workplace Legislation, Workers Compensation and Poverty Law. She is a Fellow of the College of Labor and Employment Lawyers, an elected member of its Board of Governors and Chair of the Credentials Committee. She is also an elected member of the American Law Institute and the Labor Law Group and serves on the Arkansas Advisory Committee to the United States Civil Rights Commission.

Nance has received several awards for outstanding service, including the Richard Sheppard Arnold Distinguished Service Award from the Eighth Circuit Bar Association and the Margaret Brent Women Lawyers of Achievement Award from the American Bar Association.

“It is a great pleasure to have Cynthia join the Arkansas PBS Commission,” said Courtney Pledger, Executive Director and CEO of Arkansas PBS. “His long and distinguished career which includes teaching, serving and leading others at the highest level will bring a new and welcome voice to the work of the Commission.”

The commission also includes: John Brown of Siloam Springs, chairman; West Doss of Fayetteville, vice president; Woody Freeman of Jonesboro, treasurer; Anne Canada of Subiaco; Ann Clemmer of Benton; Annette Herrington of Little Rock; and Skip Holland of Fayetteville.

Nance’s term on the commission expires on March 23, 2029.

READ ALSO: Lawyers Hamilton and Talbot join Mitchell Williams law firm in Little Rock